A vintage downriver racer, HiPP Mithril / Prijon Interceptor (?)

 

 

A vintage, barn-found, downriver racing kayak will be heading to Central Virginia tomorrow from its roots in New England, (found outside of Hudson, MA.)

If anyone knows anything about the history of Mithril Kayaks, Hingham, MA  please let me know.

The “Prijon Design” sticker is still clearly visible after all these years.

She looks fast.

== Update 8/12/17==

I got her home late last night and got her out on the water today after cleaning her up a bit.

The kayak is still in amazingly good shape for how old it is.  The deck is still pliable, the hull solid, and the seams are very well done.

From what research I’ve done and information I’ve been able to find, it appears as though this boat was a  Tony Prijon design for Mithril Kayaks back in the 1970’s.  Some have suggested it is a model called the Prijon Interceptor from a company named Hyperform (hence the “HiPP”,) but I have no idea.   Somebody on Paddling.com says he thinks, ” ‘Hyper Craft’ was a parent company for High Performance Plastics (HPP?) who built both Prijon and Lettmann designs under license?  HPP morphed into Hyperform in the late 70s.”

It is very obviously a downriver racer but has a “stubby” stern.  One person described these boats as constructed of “durable fiberglass reinforced plastic,” which seems accurate to me.  The boat is not just fiberglass, for sure.

It is of very similar design to my Phoenix Match II and paddles much the same also.

I would love for anyone who knows the history of the boat or the company to contact me.

I have a weird fondness for these old-school boats and have now added a bit more kayak history to my collection.

== Update 8/17/17 ==

One of my kayaking connections in New Zealand (whom I consider an expert) has verified this is a Prijon Interceptor and says it is “the grand daddy of the multisport boats.”

I think I might have overpaid a bit, but am comforted knowing I now own a classic.

This entry was posted in Charlottesville kayaker, Dave The Kayaker, downriver racing kayak, Interceptor, kayak, kayak racing, Mithril kayaks, Phoenix Match II, Phoenix Match II kayak, Prijon Interceptor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

